K-pop boy band ATEEZ returns with latest mini-album 'ZERO: FEVER Part.3'

연합뉴스 / 2021-09-14 10:28:51
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲ This photo, provided by KQ Entertainment,shows boy group ATEEZ. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


SEOUL, Sept. 14 (Yonhap) -- K-pop boy group ATEEZ has returned with its 7th mini album "ZERO: FEVER Part.3" since its appearance on the Mnet competition program "Kingdom: Legendary War." This time ATEEZ's album is fronted by an upbeat title track that contains sensual beauty of the group.

During an online showcase held on Monday, which was also the album's release date, member Seong-hwa said, "This is our first official performance since participating on 'Kingdom.' During our hiatus we wanted to prepare a different side of ATEEZ and make a surprise appearance."

"Our music spectrum has expanded after our experience on 'Kingdom', and the members have actively expressed their opinions to prepare for the album," member Yeo-sang said.

One of the double main tracks, "Deja Vu," is a song that reflects ATEEZ's transformation the best. Earlier, through an online vote by fans, the song was selected as another main song, beating the existing title track "Eternal Sunshine."

Jong-ho, the main vocalist of ATEEZ, said, "As our group follows the concept of 'pirates,' we decided to take a vote since anyone is able to board our so-called 'ship,'" and explained, "It means that we are creating our own route with our fans."

▲ This photo, provided by KQ Entertainment, shows boy group ATEEZ after performing the track "Deja Vu." (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

"Deja Vu," which carries an addictive melodies with percussion instruments and repeated melodies, tells the story of a confusing yet unstoppable thirst. ATEEZ agreed that it emphasized on portraying the image of restrained sexiness not only in the lyrics but also in the performance.

On the other hand, "Eternal Sunshine" has a completely opposite charm to "Deja Vu." It melts a refreshing sound to capture the feeling of wanting to be young forever.

In addition, leader Hong-joong filled the track list in various ways, including "Rocky," which was inspired by a movie, a dance pop track "Feeling Like I Do," and a R&B song "All About You."

ATEEZ recorded 810,000 pre-orders alone with its seventh mini album. The figure easily surpassed 300,000 copies, the initial sales volume of the band's previous album.


▲ This photo, provided by KQ Entertainment, shows boy group ATEEZ. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

Less than three years after its debut, ATEEZ previously showed solid performance skills in "Kingdom" and finished third after groups Stray Kids and THE BOYZ, emerging as the so-called representative boy band of the fourth-generation K-pop idols.

Last month, ATEEZ also participated in featuring for the remix version of "A Little Space" by a famous American a cappella group called Pentatonix.



(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved