BTS' records with Billboard

연합뉴스 / 2022-06-22 11:14:19
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲ This photo, provided by Big Hit Music, shows BTS. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


▲ This photo, provided by the twitter account of BTS, shows BTS. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


▲ This photo, shows 6 albums of BTS that entered the Billboard top chart. Their new album "Proof" released on May 10 was ranked 1st in the 'Billboard 200.' (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


▲ This photo, provided by Big Hit Music, shows the teaser for "Yet To Come." 



SEOUL, June 22 (Yonhap) -- The group BTS  recently released a new song and simultaneously made it to the US Billboard's main single chart “Hot 100,” drawing attention to the records they have set so far.

According to the latest chart released by Billboard on Monday (local time), “Yet To Come,” the title song of BTS' new album “Proof,” ranked 13th on the “Hot 100.”

Another new song “Run BTS” also entered the chart ranking 73rd.

Based on the songs with the name of BTS, a total of 25 songs entered the “Hot 100.”

BTS, which debuted in June 2013, has stood out on the Billboard singles chart from 2017, the fifth year of their debut.

“DNA,” the title song of the 5th mini album “LOVE YOURSELF 承-Her,” which was released on September of that year, was gradually spread by word of mouth through the support of “Army” (BTS' fans) around the world and eventually made it to “Hot 100” ranking 85.

It is the first time that it broke the “wall” of the charts which rank the most popular songs in the United States.

Most of the lyrics of this song were in Korean, but because it was the second Korean song to be on the “Hot 100” after Psy's “Gangnam Style” (2012), it was more meaningful. Within a week, 'DNA' climbed to the 67th, which recorded the highest ranking among K-pop groups.

After the “door” to Billboard was unlocked, it was literally a triumph.

In 2018, after “Fake Love” entered the top 10 for the first time ranking 10th, BTS became bigger step by step in the mainstream pop market with “Boy With Luv” (8th) and “ON” (4th).

In 2020, BTS set a record that no K-pop singer has ever reached through “Dynamite.” “Dynamite,” a funky disco genre, kept the throne of the “Hot 100” chart for three weeks, while delivering hopeful consolation to the people around the world midst COVID-19.

Starting with this, BTS managed to enter the “Top 100” one after another through songs including the featured song “Savage Love” remix, “Life Goes On,” “Butter,” and “Permission To Dance.” Including “My Universe,” a song collaborated with the world-famous band, Coldplay, 6 BTS songs took the top spot on the “Hot 100” for 17 weeks in total.

This is the reason why people say that the history of BTS is rewritten every moment.

In particular, “Butter” has set a record of maintaining its first place for 10 weeks on the “Hot 100,” solidifying its status as a world star.

J-Hope ranked 81st on the “Hot 100” with "Chicken Noodle Soup" in 2019, while V and Jungkook sang the OST “Christmas Tree” and “Stay Alive,” which was ranked 79th and 95th, respectively.

Suga, also known as “PD Min” among fans, first entered the “Hot 100” with “Daechwita” (76th) in 2020. Since then, the song “Girl Of My Dreams” by the late Juice WRLD featured by SUGA ranked 29th on the charts, and “That That” (#80), which he collaborated with Psy, also had a positive result.

In addition to the song's popularity, BTS also stood out on the main album chart. They entered the “Billboard 200” with “The Most Beautiful Moment in Life Part.2” (#171) in 2015, and then also entered the chart with “Eplilogue: Young Forever,” “WINGS,” and “You Never Walk Alone.”

In 2017, “LOVE YOURSELF 承 Her” (7th) entered the top 10, setting the highest record for a K-pop album.

The following year, BTS topped the Billboard 200 for the first time in the history of Korean pop music.

Starting with “LOVE YOURSELF 承 Her,” in 2018, along with “Proof,” which was released on May 10, 6 albums continuously topped the charts.

Each member's mixtape (non-regular album) also stood out on the album chart.

In 2018, J-Hope's “Hope World' ranked 38th on “Billboard 200,” followed by RM's “mono” (26th) and Suga's “D-2” (11th). All the three albums entered the charts and became the highest ranked Korean singers at the time.

BTS will stop their team music activities for the time being and begin their “second part of the plan” as solo activities.

The first runner for the solo activity is J-Hope. He will appear as the headliner at the famous music festival “Lollapalooza” held in Chicago, USA on July 31 (local time).




(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved