Solo singers and idol groups freshen up K-pop scene with summer songs

연합뉴스 / 2021-07-21 15:36:12
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲ This photo provided by Antenna shows singer Kwon Jin-ah. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)



▲ This photo provided by WM Entertainment shows boy group ONF's upcoming single "Popping." (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)



▲ This photo provided by Play M Entertainment shows girl group Weekly. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)



SEOUL, July 21 (Yonhap) -- Amid the scorching heatwaves in South Korea, various singers, ranging from sentimental musicians to idols, are announcing their comebacks with summer songs.

Singer-songwriter Jung Jae-hyung will release his new single "Dance of Phase" on Wednesday as part of his music project "Home."

Jung Jae-hyung, who started off the project with his lively spring song "Feather of the Spring," has now prepared a fresh summer number for the hot season.

"Dance of Phase" dramatically depicts the process of a single note becoming a musical instrument to creating harmony and turning into a whole song.

Jung creates a dynamic atmosphere by adding electronic sound and rap in the second half of the song. Hip-hop singer Qim Isle featured in the rap.

Singer Kwon Jin-ah, who belongs to record label Antenna along with Jung Jae-hyung, will release her single "Knock" on July 27 with retro music artist Park Moon-chi. 

Antenna introduced "Knock" as "a summer song combining Kwon Jin-ah's distinctive clear tone and Park Moon-chi's sensuous sound." Kwon Jin-ah participated in writing and composing the song herself.

Kwon Jin-ah mainly performed ballads such as "Tell me about your day," "The End," and "I got lucky," which revolve around the theme of love. However, the singer is expected to show a more transformed image through this single.

Boy group ONF will introduce its new upbeat summer song "Popping," on August 9.

ONF's agency WM Entertainment, named the sextet's upcoming album as a "Summer Popup album," and introduced "Popping" as "ONF's first summer song since the group's debut."

ONF released its first teaser photo, which portrayed a picture of a thermometer that reads 38 degree Celsius, raising the heat of anticipation of the band's comeback.

Last summer, ONF received positive responses from fans for their dance song "Sukhumvit Swimming," which was a mix of reggae and trap music.

Girl group Weekly will release their fourth mini-album "Play Game: Holiday," under the concept of girls going on vacation, on August 4.

Weekly's pre-released photos portrayed props that gave off a summer atmosphere such as picnic baskets, mats, and suitcases.

"Through this album, listeners will be able to see Weekly's travel stories like 'A Midsummer Night's Dream,'" the girl group's agency Play M Entertainment said.



(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved

Comment >

Most Viewed