GIFF Chairman Kim Dong-ho to be awarded at Malaysia International Film Festival

연합뉴스 / 2022-06-17 16:38:23
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲This file photo shows, Kim Dong-ho the chairman of Gangneung International Film Festival (Yonhap)



SEOUL, June 17 (Yonhap) -- Kim Dong-ho, the chairman of Gangneung International File Festival (GIFF) to be awarded Lifetime Achievement award at the Malaysia International Film Festival (Miffest).

Both chairman Kim Dong-ho and director Hou Hsiao-hsien will be awarded with the “Lifetime Achievement Award“ at Malaysia Golden Global Awards.

Joanne Goh, founder and chairperson of Miffest explained ”chairman Kim Dong-ho is a founder of both Busan and Gangneung International Film Festivals, also he has left numerous achievements that have been praised throughout the film industry.” as a reason for awarding chairman Kim.

Winners of previous Lifetime Achievement Awards include director Ann Hui from Hong Kong, and actor Hung Gam-bou. The Golden Global Award is an award ceremony taking place right after the closing of the Malaysian International Film Festival, which will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in July 16.

Before chairman Kim Dong-ho worked for the GIFF, he started working for the Department of the Public Information up until he became Deputy Minister for around about 30 years since 1961. Chairman Kim Dong-ho is said to have contributed to numerous cultural policies. After his resignation, Kim Dong-ho worked as a festival director for the Busan International Film Festival from 1996 for about 20 years.

He was awarded numerous awards and decorations including the Order of Cultural Merit in 2005, ordre national de la Légion d’honneur in 2006, Unesco Fellini medal in 2007, Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in 2007, achievement award from the national assembly of the republic of Korea in 2011, Lifetime Achievement Award from Far East Film Festival in 2013, ordre national de la Légion d’honneu in 2014 and more.

(This article is translated from Korean to English by Joonha Yoo.)



(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved