K-pop girl group ITZY returns with first studio album 'Crazy in Love'

연합뉴스 / 2021-09-24 17:09:07
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲ This photo, provided by JYP Entertainment, shows girl group ITZY. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


SEOUL, Sept. 24 (Yonhap) -- K-pop girl group ITZY on Friday returned with its first full-length album "Crazy in Love" in two years and seven months since its debut. Like the album title suggests, the group said it wanted to express the feelings of floundering in love through ITZY's own color.

"So far our songs have revolved around themes on being confident in oneself or focusing on the value of myself, however this new album will showcase helpless feelings of love," member Yuna said through ITZY's agency JYP Entertainment.

Her teammate Yeji also added, "We've always carried the message of being confident in our songs. In this album, we went further and created a passionate image by asking ourselves 'What would ITZY look like if we were crazy about love?'"

The lead track "LOCO" interprets the feelings of intense attraction in a Generation Z style. The song was created by Galactika, a music production team that produced the band's 2019 debut single "Dalla Dalla" and last year's smash hit "Wannabe."

"The production team were well aware of the capabilities each member has, so it was much easier to work with them," Ryujin said. "When I first heard the song, the first thing that came to my mind was, 'Yes! This is what I expected!"

"Loco," has an addictive element with the lyrics "Loco" repetitively appearing between the introduction of the song and the dance break. Just like ITZY's nickname as "performance masters," the dance sequence is also designed to suit the theme of the song.

Chaeryeong mentioned that the performance of the members turning their heads together with the lyrics "I'm getting Loco, Loco, and Loco" will leave a strong impression on the audience. The so-called "crown dance" was implemented to expresses the dizziness and complex emotions.



▲ These photos, provided by JYP Entertainment, shows parts of ITZY's teaser video for its title track "Loco." (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

The five-piece-act also changed its style in terms of onstage outfits. Under the concept of "high teen," which usually refers to looks worn in the 90's up to the early 2000s, ITZY will remain their liveliness while adding a spoonful of loveliness as well.

As "Crazy in Love" is a full-length album, sixteen additional songs such as "SWIPE," "Sooo Lucky," "#Twenty," "Gas Me Up," and "Love Is" were included.

Going forward, a number of talented songwriters such as earattack, Cho Yun-gyeong, Ludwig Lindell, and Sim Eun-jee, who has worked with famous K-pop artists such as Taeyeon, BTS, Red Velvet, and TWICE, have participated in the making of the album.

Expectations are also high for ITZY's future spot on global music charts, given that "Crazy in Love" is released after the all-female act landed No. 148 on the Billboard main albums chart with its previous fourth EP "Guess Who."

"I worked on 'Guess Who' with the goal of hoping to satisfy more global fans, and I was happy that it came out better than I expected," Ryu Jin said.

Lia added, "I was even more grateful that the listeners were able to acknowledge our members' hard efforts and love ITZY's music," emphasizing, "We prepared our new album with excitement rather than feeling burdened."

In less than three years after its debut, ITZY entered Billboard's main chart and established themselves as the center of K-pop's fourth-generation idol groups. The girl group stated pride and confidence to be their secret for their popularity.

Yeji said, "I think the audience was able to recognize the charm of ITZY's honesty in expressing emotions," while Ryujin promised, "We will continue to work hard towards our goals rather than worrying about what other people think or say about us."



▲ This photo, provided by JYP Entertainment, shows South Korean girl group ITZY. According to the agency, the group will appear on NBC's "Kelly Clarkson Show" on Sept. 27, 2021. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

ITZY will once again take a leap forward toward the global music market by releasing its first full-length album in line with the eastern standard time. On Sept. 27, the group will appear on the popular American talk show "The Kelly Clarkson Show" and unveil its performance for "Loco."



(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved