[Weekly Digest: May 23-29] BTS to meet Biden at White House to discuss anti-Asian hate crimes... Kang Daniel returns with first full album

연합뉴스 / 2022-05-29 07:00:40
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print

by Ra Hwak Jin / An Hayeon


▲ This image, captured from the Twitter account of BTS, shows its members posing for a photo at the second Sustainable Development Goals Moment (SDG Moment) event at the United Nations headquarters in New York on Sept. 20, 2021. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


◇ BTS to meet Biden at White House to discuss anti-Asian hate crimes

South Korean boy group BTS will meet with U.S. President Joe Biden at the White House next week to discuss ways to deal with rising anti-Asian hate crimes in the U.S., the White House said Thursday.

"On Tuesday, May 31st, global K-pop phenomenon and Grammy-nominated musical group from the Republic of Korea BTS will join President Biden to discuss Asian inclusion and representation, and to address anti-Asian hate crimes and discrimination which have become more prominent issues in recent years," it said in a press release.

"President Biden and BTS will also discuss the importance of diversity and inclusion and BTS' platform as youth ambassadors who spread a message of hope and positivity across the world. Additional details to follow," it added.

The rare invitation for South Korean pop artists to the White House comes amid a sharp increase in crimes targeting Asian Americans and other minority communities in the U.S.

According to the music industry on the 27th, RM, the leader of BTS, said through the fan community "Weverse" the night before, "We're going there thanks to all of you (ARMY· BTS fans), so this (schedule) is also yours. We ask for your support."

"It's not always, but we know everything you all are saying, and as we're also listening and watching, I want to tell you not to worry so much," he said. "We'll come back safely and see you all in June with a smile."


▲ K-pop group Seventeen poses for photographers during a press conference for its fourth full-length album, "Face the Sun," at a Seoul hotel on May 27, 2022. (Yonhap)


◇ Seventeen aims to be as 'hot' as sun with 4th studio album

Boy group Seventeen returned with its fourth full-length album titled "Face the Sun" on Friday, unveiling an ambition to become as "hot" as the sun in the K-pop scene.

The album released at 1 p.m. marks the band's first since its last EP, "Attacca," in October and its first studio album in two years and eight months.

The album consists of nine tracks, all of them sung by the members as a group, without any solo or unit numbers.

The main song "Hot," which combines hip-hop with western guitar sounds, is about the band's desire to become a presence as hot as the sun.

"I think 'Hot' is a song that can best represent today's Seventeen. "It's passionate identity and the goal it is trying to achieve as a new starting point matches perfectly with (the image of) the sun,” said Woozi during a press conference at a Seoul hotel to mark the release.

The supergroup sold 1.75 million copies of its new album on the first day of its release, a record for the group, its agency said Saturday.

The album also topped iTunes top albums charts in 22 regions, including the Philippines and Brazil, with the lead track debuting on top of iTunes top songs charts in 26 regions, including Mexico and Singapore.


▲ This photo, provided by Warner Music Korea, shows the group GOT7. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


◇ GOT7 comes back as whole again… “wanted to prove we didn’t disband”

Group GOT7 has made a globally successful comeback with its new album “GOT7.”

The group’s new mini-album “GOT7,” which was released on the 23rd at 6 p.m. (KST), topped the worldwide iTunes album chart and European iTunes album chart on the 24th, at the same time, according to the agency Warner Music Korea, on Wednesday.

Group GOT7 said, “As it is a new start for GOT7, it feels like we built a new home,” at a press conference to celebrate its new mini-album release, in Gangnam District, Seoul, on the 23rd.

Jay B said, “I’m so glad that the seven of us came back altogether,” adding, “We did say that the seven of us should do this together, but even I’m thrilled that our comeback has come true.”

BamBam emphasized, “We wanted to prove that GOT7 did not disband.”

GOT7, a 7-member boy group that debuted in January 2014, decided not to renew the contract and looked for a new agency when the contract expired with JYP Entertainment in January 2021.

However, contrary to some concerns that team activities will not be easy, GOT7 released a new album in 15 months and came back to their fans as promised.


▲ Singer Kang Daniel speaks during a press conference to promote "The Story," his first full-length album, at a Seoul hotel on May 24, 2022. (Yonhap)


◇ Singer Kang Daniel returns to cheerful music with first full-length album

Kang Daniel, who debuted as a member of the now-defunct project boy group Wanne One, is back with cheerful songs Tuesday after a nearly three-year journey to find his true musical colors as a solo artist.

He dropped "The Story," his first full-length album on Tuesday with his last album, the EP "Color on Me," being released in July 2019.

"This album depicted my own journey to find my true colors," the singer said during a press conference held at a Seoul hotel to promote the album. "I wanted to create music that can be healing to others."

The upcoming album consists of 10 songs, including the main single "Upside Down," "Don Tell" and "Mad."

Kang introduced "Upside Down" as a mid-tempo song meant to be comfortable to listen to and that is "particularly good to listen to behind the wheel."

Kang once again showed off his B-boying skills, which he has put on the shelf for a long time, through the song.

"It was really hard because I haven't practiced B-boying since I filmed the audition program," he said. "I'll be able to show it to you on the stage of TV music programs for the first time in a long time."





(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved