Mamamoo releases ‘best album’ on 7th debut year

연합뉴스 / 2021-09-15 19:32:25
  • facebookfacebook
  • twittertwitter
  • kakaokakao
  • pinterestpinterest
  • navernaver
  • bandband
  • -
  • +
  • print
▲ This photo, provided by RBW, shows girl group Mamamoo. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)


SEOUL, Sept. 15 (Yonhap) — K-pop girl group Mamamoo, which are known for its talented singing skills, will release a best album covering the K-pop act’s activities over the past seven years since its debut.

Through the group’s agency, RBW, member Hwasa said, “This album feels like a gift because it is filled with so many things," adding, "I hope everyone feels the joy and excitement like when we untie ribbons off of gifts, and I hope that this memory will remain for a long time."

“This is an album where we can look back on Mamamoo’s career over the past seven years,” Wheein said. “I was happy and proud to reminisce different memories with our fandom MooMoo while preparing for the album.”

▲ This photo, provided by RBW, shows girl group Mamamoo. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

The all-female act’s best album "I SAY MAMAMOO: THE BEST" contains a total of 23 tracks.

Fans will be able to see Mamamoo’s musical journey from the debut song “Mr. Ambiguous," "You're the Best," "Piano Man," "Egotistic," to new songs such as "Decalcomanie," which earned the girl group first place on music shows.

Different remixes such as the orchestra version of “Starry Night” and the rock version of “Gogobebe” can also be seen on the album.

Regarding the composition of the album, Moon Byul explained, "It starts magnificently with 'Paint Me', followed by lively songs, and ends with ‘Yes I am,’ which is the first encore song that comes to mind.”

Hwasa said, "These are previously released songs, but I made sure to go back to my mindset when I first recorded these songs. My voice changed a lot at the beginning of my debut from my voice now, so I recorded many parts again," adding, "When I monitored the recording, I remember thinking that I’ve matured a lot.”

The title track "Mumumumuch” contains Mamamoo’s sincere love for fans. Moon Byul also helped with writing the lyrics and member Solar also picked this song as the "best recommended song."

Wheein said, "This is one of Mamamoo's refreshing song that we will perform for the first time in about three to four years," adding, "It's an attractive song with pure and witty lyrics as well as a melody full of lively energy. The listeners will probably hum to it even if you listen to it once.”

▲ This photo, provided by RBW, shows girl group Mamamoo. (PHOTO NOT FOR SALE) (Yonhap)

Debuting in 2014, the four-piece-act created several popular hits and each member stood out with their individual solo activities.

Mamamoo’s future activities has drawn attention from the music industry this year, as the group faced its seventh debut anniversary, which is typical the ending period of an idol group’s exclusive contract. While Solar, Moon Byul, and Hwasa renewed their contracts with RBW, Wheein decided to move to another agency yet still continue her team activities as a member of Mamamoo.

To mark the girl group’s seventh anniversary of their debut, Mamamoo also introduced the 2021 Where Are We (WAW) project, which includes mini albums, online concerts, and documentaries.



(C) Yonhap News Agency. All Rights Reserved